Uncategorized

#Suzy Selfie Winner

Recently, a brand new indie, fashion forward sewing magazine was produced by two lovely ladies of the sewing community, and I, obviously, jumped at the chance to get my hands on one.

Whilst I was reading (drooling over) this magazine (work of art), I noticed a little competition on one of the pages which required you to upload a selfie with the suzy magazine to Instagram with the hashtag ‘#suzyselfie’.

So I posed with my magazine (I’m so effortlessly flawless I got it in the first try), and I uploaded it to Instagram.

wp-1485192420550.jpg
here was my entry!

I had basically forgotten about it until I was walking out of my first university exam in January, I looked at my phone only to find that I had won two dress patterns with my selfie, and two other sewers had both won a bomber jacket pattern each. Both of the other sewers that won are worth a follow on Instagram their names are @miss_jennifer_makes and @sewmcrazy (and SewMcRazy has a vlog which is super good and i’d definitely check it out).

So, after pretty much living in the university library with my head in a book for the past two weeks the excitement was quite unreal, I think I may have even squealed.

After calming myself down and a couple of days had passed I received my winnings in the post.

The two patterns are both by Deer and Doe. One is called Arum (right) and the other Reglisse (left), links to both of these patterns on the deer and doe website are here and here.

I think both of these are rather adorable, and I’m super excited to see what the finished products are for both of them.

Here was some inspiration I got for the Arum dress to make it that little bit extra fabulous.

 image sources from left to right: 1 / 2 / 3

And here was some inspiration for the Reglisse dress!

image sources from left to right: 1 / 2 / 3

Any help/suggestions for fabrics would be amazing!

happy sewing x

Leave a Reply

