Pattern Hacks

Day trip out with my new dress (plus another human).

Hi guys,

sorry the posts have been somewhat sporadic in nature – the dissertation is getting the best of me. However, I have found time to do a little sewing, including making a little darling dress for me to feel rather fabulous in.

The dress is (another, I know, I’m obsessed) Republique Du Chiffon Marthe blouse, but the sleeves have been shortened and the ‘peplum’ bit was just extended to the length I needed it to be for me to wear it as a dress and protect my dignity, so it was a little over double for my 5ft stature.

The fabric I used is a lovely lightweight cotton from Ditto Fabrics in Brighton (also online) and it was such a dreamboat to sew with. All edges were finished with bias binding, and I found a lovely vintage daisy button for the fastening at the back of the neckline. But, TOP TIP, with this pattern, there is actually no need to have a fastening, as the neckline is big enough for your head to get through anyway, so unless you have an large head (which is full of lots of brains, I presume) you can miss out that step.

IMG_20170325_193830_858

So after the completion of my newest dress I dragged a friend out and had a little day trip in sunny Brighton.

First of all I found a guy to serenade me with his violin, after seeing me in my dress he did his best to woo me, but ultimately failed and I left him broken-hearted.

received_1492453347473828

Next, I found some very typical Brightonian (that’s a word, I swear) graffiti and thought it could be a good background to contrast a very girly dress. So I rocked a few poses, pretending I hadn’t done some very odd acrobatics to get over the bike and actually get to the wall.

After the o-so-professional fashion shoot against this backdrop I next treated the dress to being ft. in a black and white photobooth picture with my gal, after all, everything looks better in black and white, right? (also check out my sassy side-eye in the first picture)

IMG_20170405_154309471

After that I stumbled across a wall which would read a book to me, how cool is that? Then we went on and rounded off the day with a bite to eat.

So after a tiresome day of wondering around Brighton, we headed home and now my newest treasure hangs in my wardrobe.

Hope you enjoyed my little adventure.

Happy Sewing

xx

 

 

One thought on “Day trip out with my new dress (plus another human).

Leave a Reply

